April 29, 2021

Public Comment:
District 54 received one public comment for the April 29 board meeting thanking the district for offering the Virtual Learning Academy next year.

Results of the Canvass for the April 6, 2021 School Board Election:
The School Board approved a motion to accept the results of the canvass for the April 6, 2021 School Board election. Jim Pye, Nicholas Scipione, Debbie A. Schmidt and Kenneth R. Van Dyke received a plurality of votes cast and have been elected as members of the Board of Education for four-year terms. The oath of office was administered to these four board members

Adjournment Sine Die

Call to Order of New Board

Election of Officers: 
The following individuals were elected as School Board officers.

  • Board President: Mary Kay Prusnick
  • Board Vice President: Jim Pye
  • Board Secretary: Ken Van Dyke

Adoption of Rules, Regulations, Policies and Procedures:
The Board adopted the rules, regulations, policies and procedures of the prior School District 54 Board of Education.

Board members congratulated the newly sworn in board members as well as the District 54 Special Olympians serving on the statewide Youth Activation Committee who received the Distinguished Service Award of Excellence in the Team category from the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association.

Closed Session:
The Board adjourned at 7:15 p.m. to closed session for employment/appointment matters.